Second Day Chicken Soup 

Here lately, my husband and I have been obsessed with roasting chicken in our Crock-Pot. At our local Aldi, we can buy a nice sized whole chicken for about six bucks. I simply rinse it, season it to my desire, and throw it in my Crock-Pot on high for about four hours. To keep the juices away from the chicken, I put it on a metal rack that fits right inside, but I have heard of people using aluminum foil as well.

The first night we eat the legs and thighs with traditional sides, like mashed potatoes and veggies. Then I shred the remaining meat off the bone and save the chicken juices in the fridge. Next day is soup time! This is my go to recipe, but feel free to use vegetables and flavors that you enjoy.

Ingredients

  • Reserved juice of roasted chicken
  • One quart chicken stock
  • Small bag baby carrots
  • Four golden russet potatoes, diced
  • One small bunch green onion, diced
  • 6-8 stalks celery, sliced
  • Two cans fire roasted diced tomatoes
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Reserved shredded chicken from roasted chicken

Directions

Throw all ingredients into Crock-Pot except for chicken. Cook on low for 6 hours or until potatoes and carrots are tender. Throw in chicken meat and cook an additional 30 minutes until heated through.

Because I am just cooking for my husband and I, we have the soup for dinner and I usually take the rest of the soup throughout the week for lunch, which saves so much extra time and money! What are your favorite chicken soup ingredients?

Leave a Reply

