7 Day Clean Eating Challenge: Days 5-7

I completed the challenge, and the results are in! Friday (day 5) looked pretty much like the rest of the week, I brought my typical snacks and tuna lunch to work and ate the rest of the pork chop meal from day 3. In case you want a recap, here is my grocery list, meal plan, day 2 and day 4 posts.

Saturday was difficult. Since I was home from work I was tempted to snack all day long. It doesn’t help that I have the sweetest husband, who knows I love chocolate and brought home a king sized  Fast Break candy bar home for me on Tuesday. It has been sitting in the freezer all week, in which I did eat half of today to celebrate! I ate really well all week. I will post my recap of yesterday (Saturday, day 6) and then give you my ending weight and measurements at the end of this post.

Breakfast Day 6: Homemade whole wheat biscuit with 2 poached eggs and dijon mustard with 1/2 Tbsp melted butter

image

Lunch: Potato and apple hash with leftover turkey sausage and salad greens

image

Dinner: Italian turkey sliders. (1lb of turkey meat with 1 egg, Italian seasoning, and 1 diced red bell pepper makes twelve 1/4 c patties) with shredded mozzarella and marinara sauce. I also had tons of zucchini and baby carrots leftover from this week’s snack #1, so I roasted them with some seasonings and olive oil.

image

Day 6 workout (This is LOADS of fun by the way!)

 

Day 7 Breakfast (today): Still using up the leftovers! Turkey sausage, potato, brussel sprout, and apple hash, sauteed in olive oil and seasoned with salt, pepper, Italian seasoning, garlic and onion. This was so delicious! My husband ate his in 2 mins.

image

image

So the question this budget blog must ask, can you eat clean on a budget?

While I did spend $15-$20 more on groceries last week, we still have plenty of leftovers to last us until Wednesday night, and usually, we are out of groceries by Saturday. So I would say, yes! You will be buying more veggies and meats then normal, but you will have lots of food. If you look at how many more days this week’s groceries lasted, we really didn’t spend much more per meal than normal. I’m impressed! Plus, I have been enjoying the creativity it takes to meal prep and cook meals at home. If you do decide to eat clean, make sure you plan out meals using ALL the leftover meats and veggies. You won’t be saving any money if you let your produce go to waste!!

Beginning weight and measurements:

IMG_20160617_130236 edit

  • Weight: 156.4 lbs
  • Bust 40″
  • Waist 33.5″
  • Hips 39.5″
  • Thighs 22.5″
  • Upper Arms 12.5″

Ending weight and measurements:

IMG_20160624_080123 edit

  • Weight: 153.0 lbs
  • Bust 40″
  • Waist 33″
  • Hips 39″
  • Thighs 22.5″
  • Upper Arms 11.5″

As you can see, these are really good results for only one week. You can see in the photos I am less bloated all over. I lost a total of 3.4 lbs and 2″ inches off of my body.

I am currently preparing to do the Whole30 diet in July, so comment below what you think and follow this blog for the Whole30 journey soon to come. Hope you guys enjoyed this week’s journey, thanks for stopping by each day and reading!

XOXO,

Brunette Budgets

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. It’s amazing how much water weight you lose when you quit processed foods. The same thing happened to me. Also, your day 6 breakfast just made me really hungry. 🙂

    Like

    1. acobriant82 says:

      Yes I know! I’m sure it was all water weight but it was surprising that it went that fast. Day 6 breakfast was so yummy! Glad you enjoyed 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

