Day 3 Clean Eating Challenge Update with Pork Chop Recipe

So yesterday, I did stay within the 1200 calorie goal, woo hoo! Yesterday was my rest day, but I did stay active. Hubby and I went to Barnes & Nobel and walked around, and then we went to Big Lots. If you are on a budget, Big Lots is the place for all of your home and kitchen needs, I love it! I did find a few awesome things, but first things first, below is my schedule from yesterday. If you need a recap, find my meal plan and grocery list here, and my meal prep for the week here. Also my updates for Day 1 and Day 2. AAAAnd if you want to find out where the 7 Day Clean Eating Challenge originated from, click here.

6:30 Breakfast – 1 Whole Wheat Waffle with 1/2 Turkey Sausage and 1/2 Tbsp organic strawberry preserves

10:00 Snack 1 – Zucchini and Carrot Sticks with 2 Tbsp Fit & Active (Aldi) Cucumber Ranch

12:00 Tuna Salad with Mixed Spring Greens

4:00 Snack 2 – Bell Peppers, Cucumbers, and Cottage Cheese

7:00 Dinner – Italian Baked Chops

11:00 Bed Time

I stayed up kinda late and almost forgot about my 3:30 snack, so I ate it more like 4, which worked out because I started dinner late last night. Hubby and I debated for about 30 mins after I got home from work, whether to have date night last night, but we decided against it so I could stick to my meal plan. Tonight, however, is date night, and it is going to be interesting if I can find a restaurant suitable for clean eating to go eat at tonight. Any suggestions?

I did find an AMAZING cookbook last night for only $8.00 at Barnes & Nobel, as well as some MUCH needed kitchen items from Big Lots. I have been doing all my meal prep with a small vegetable knife and cutting them on a plate. So I found a knife set for around $6.00 and a wood cutting board for $7.50. I am still on the hunt for a cheap but accurate food scale! I do plan to make some of the recipes from the cookbook. I am so in love with this book. I’ll tell you more about it next week!

image

image

 

Italian Baked Chops

wp-1466695986337.jpg

Ingredients

Six 4 oz Pork, fresh, loin, center loin (chops), bone-in
1 Tbsp Olive Oil
1/2 Tbsp Italian Seasoning
1/2 Tbsp serving dehydrated onion
1 tsp Salt
1/2 tsp Garlic powder
1/2 tsp Pepper, black

Directions

Preheat oven to 300 Degrees F.

Heat up a large skillet over medium high heat.

After the pan heats up, drizzle with 1 Tbsp olive oil.

image

In the meantime, mix together all seasonings and spread evenly over the chops.
image

Sear chops for 5 mins on each side.

Transfer pork chops over to a foil lined cookie sheet, and cover with more foil.
image

Bake for 30 mins. Allow to rest for 5 mins before serving.

Nutrition

Six 4 oz Servings
Amount Per Serving
  • Calories 301.5
  • Total Fat 18.3 g
  • Saturated Fat 6.3 g
  • Polyunsaturated Fat 1.6 g
  • Monounsaturated Fat 8.7 g
  • Cholesterol 97.5 mg
  • Sodium 454.6 mg
  • Potassium 404.9 mg
  • Total Carbohydrate 0.3 g
  • Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
  • Sugars 0.1 g
  • Protein 31.7 g
  • Vitamin A 0.2 %
  • Vitamin B- 129.4 %
  • Vitamin B- 621.5 %
  • Vitamin C1.8 %
  • Vitamin D0.0 %
  • Vitamin E1.4 %
  • Calcium3.1 %
  • Copper4.3 %
  • Folate0.9 %
  • Iron7.0 %
  • Magnesium5.5 %
  • Manganese1.5 %
  • Niacin26.1 %
  • Pantothenic Acid8.0 %
  • Phosphorus20.4 %
  • Riboflavin14.4 %
  • Selenium66.5 %
  • Thiamin58.2 %
  • Zinc16.4 %
*Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet. Your daily values may be higher or lower depending on your calorie needs.

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. I find steak houses are a good bet when you want to eat out and stay clean. I usually do half a steak (or you could do chicken) and a salad or a green veggie and a plain sweet potato. Good luck! My honey wants to go to a burger place tonight, of course. 😀 I’ll be leaving the bun on the plate, haha.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. acobriant82 says:

      Thanks for the suggestions! Good luck with the burger, I would end up eating the bun haha.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Oooh Jamie Oliver is awesome! I remember watching him on TV before he became famous. He was less chubbier back then hehe.

    Nice recipe btw- if I ever make them myself, I might make a video of it and definitely link it back here 😉

    Thanks for sharing!

    Your pal,
    Benjamin
    http://www.projectbiy.com

    Like

    1. acobriant82 says:

      Thanks, glad you enjoyed the recipe. I love Jamie Oliver too, his recipes are always simple and full of flavor. I miss watching his cooking show.

      Like

  3. Joyce says:

    I actually found this more eninatrinteg than James Joyce.

    Like

Leave a Reply

