Vegan Red Bean Burgers: Recipe Review

image

I’m not vegan, but it’s no secret that getting your hands on canned beans is a fraction of the cost of ground beef, pork, or turkey.  I have seen black bean burgers floating all around Pinterest, and one caught my eye. I didn’t have the exact ingredients on hand, but the results were pretty tasty.  Probably not something my husband would eat, but for my work lunches, this recipe is perfect for me to make ahead. First, I would like to review my thoughts and observations on bean burgers. My recipe will follow the review.  Also, please check out the original recipe by Emilie Eats, it looks delicious and much more colorful than mine!!

So one thing about these burger patties, is they are super mushy and sticky.  I read a post, can’t remember where, that you should freeze the patties before hand.  This sounds like a good idea!  I plan to do that next time I made these. While cooking the patties unfrozen, I found they flattened out too much.  I easily fixed this though by taking a spoon and re-shaped the edges by pressing the sides back toward the middle to keep the size and thickness that I wanted. The patties break apart easily too.  I cooked mine in the oven, so I didn’t have to flip them, so I do not know how hard these would be to flip when frying in a skillet.  I did find once they cooled down a bit, the patties firmed up and were easy to transfer over to the burger buns. You don’t get the same consistency and mouth feel as a burger, but I found them to be a good meatless meal.  On a grading scale, I give the flavor an A-, while I give the mouth feel a C. I think if you added some meaty type of mushrooms to this recipe, the patties would have a more hearty mouth feel.

Makes 4 large 1/2 cup patties or 8 small 1/4 c patties

Ingredients:

  • 2 Tbsp ground flax seeds
  • 5 Tbsp water
  • One can Red Kidney Beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 c cooked quinoa
  • 1/2 green bell pepper, diced
  • 1 Tbsp paprika
  • 1 tsp seasoning salt
  • 1/4-1/2 tsp ground black pepper

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 375 Degrees Fahrenheit.
  • In a small bowl, combine ground flax seeds and water and place in fridge to gel up.
  • Pulse kidney beans in food processor until slightly mashed and still chunky.  Do not puree or mash completely.
  • In a medium bowl, add together your mashed beans, the remaining ingredients, and your flax mixture.  It will be nicely gelled up by now.
  • Scoop out your desired sized patty and form.  Works better if you grease up your hands or wet your hands with water to help with the sticking.
  • Bake on an oiled cookie sheet for 25 mins, reshape the sides with a spatula or spoon, and bake an additional 20-25 mins until browned on top.
  • Allow to cook for 8 minutes and serve!

Note:  Receipe calculated without the extra added fat to the pan for cooking.

Nutrition Facts by SparkRecipes

 4 Servings

Amount Per Serving
  • Calories 252.3
  • Total Fat 3.3 g
  • Saturated Fat 0.2 g
  • Polyunsaturated Fat1 .3 g
  • Monounsaturated Fat 0.3 g
  • Cholesterol 0.0 mg
  • Sodium1 106.7 mg
  • Potassium 467.5 mg
  • Total Carbohydrate 44.5 g
  • Dietary Fiber 13.9 g
  • Sugars 2.4 g
  • Protein 12.7 g
  • Vitamin A 18.2 %
  • Vitamin B-120.0 %
  • Vitamin B-65.2 %
  • Vitamin C 5.0 %
  • Vitamin D 0.0 %
  • Vitamin E 0.5 %
  • Calcium 4.7 %
  • Copper 12.6 %
  • Folate 20.9 %
  • Iron 20.7 %
  • Magnesium 12.1 %
  • Manganese 20.5 %
  • Niacin 5.0 %
  • Pantothenic Acid 2.7 %
  • Phosphorus 27.2 %
  • Riboflavin 35.1 %
  • Selenium 2.8 %
  • Thiamin 12.0 %
  • Zinc 6.3 %
*Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet. Your daily values may be higher or lower depending on your calorie needs.

 

 

Leave a Reply

