Italian Baked Eggs

photopin flickr.com slash photos slash 40991250 at NOO slash 4395683684

delightful! via photopin (license)

I have been in a breakfast rut, until now!  Besides, anything taste better with the word Italian in the front of it, right?  I never really realized that baking eggs was an option.  Pinterest, where have you been in my life, before you came along, I knew nothing!  The basic recipe is three ingredients, but add what you like and get creative, make it your own.  That’s what I love about cooking, art work that you can eat!

Its been such a long time between posts.  My husband and I moved, changed jobs, didn’t have internet access for a while, and so on.  I am so glad to be back cooking and blogging.  I just had to start off with this recipe.  Since finding so many variations on Pinterest, I have made this for breakfast for going on three weeks now.  I have been hording this delicious culinary experience, and it’s now time to share it with all of you.

This recipe below is for one and is cooked in a ramekin, but simply add more ramekins and ingredients for how ever many people you need to feed, or make a big batch in an oven safe casserole dish, tho you will have to adjust baking times.  I have also cooked this in a Stone Wave (an as-seen-on-tv microwavable stone ware cooker, I looooove it!) for about 2 mins.  Here is what you will need:

  • 2 eggs (I use large)
  • 1 C spinach (I use a spinach/radicchio salad greens mix)
  • 1/4 C marinara sauce
  • Optional – 2 Tbsp Parmesan cheese or shredded Mozzarella
  • Optional – salt and pepper to taste
  • Optional – toasted bread or garlic bread

Preheat oven to 350 F. In a small ramekin, place marinara and spinach.  Season the spinach with a little salt and pepper.  Gently crack the two eggs on top, season with a little more salt and pepper.  Top with cheese (optional) and bake for 12-15 minutes, depending on how done you like your eggs. Serve with crusty bread for dipping or my favorite, a toasted everything bagel.  The added flavor and texture of all those different seeds on top of the bagel is refreshing change from your everyday bagel.  How ever you season your recipe or what you serve with it, work within your budget and enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

